Skip to Main Content

Center for Medicare

Sean Cavanaugh, Deputy Administrator and Director

Cynthia Tudor, Deputy Center Director

Liz Richter, Deputy Center Director

Business Operations Staff 2

Victoria Beder, Director

Medicare Drug Benefit and C and D Data Group

Amy Larrick, Acting Director
Division of Benefit Purchasing and Monitoring - Linda Anders, Acting Director
Division of Formulary and Benefit Operations - Judith Geisler, Director
Division of Clinical and Operational Performance - Michelle Ketcham, Acting Director
Division of Consumer Assessment and Plan Performance - Elizabeth Goldstein, Director
Division of Plan Data - Lori Robinson, Director
Division of Part D Policy - Chris Bauer, Director

Medicare Drug and Health Plan Contract Administration Group

Kathryn Coleman, Acting Director
Division of Policy, Analysis and Planning - Debbie Vanhoven, Director
Division of Medicare Advantage Operations - Cathy Baldwin, Director
Division of Finance and Benefits - Dale Summers, Acting Director
Division of Surveillance, Compliance and Marketing - Tim Roe, Director

Medicare Enrollment and Appeals Group

Arrah Tabe-Bedward, Director
Division of Enrollment and Eligibility Policy - Patty Helphenstine, Director
Division of Appeals Policy - Rita Wurm, Director
Division of Appeals Operations - Maria Ramirez, Director
Division of Medicare Enrollment Coordination - Michael Crochunis, Acting Director

Medicare Plan Payment Group

Cheri Rice, Director
Division of Payment Validation - Ilina Chaudhuri, Acting Director
Division of Payment Operations -Vacant, Director
Division of Payment Reconciliation - Amanda Johnson, Director
Division of Payment Systems - John Scott, Director
Division of Payment Policy - Rebecca Paul, Director
Division of Encounter Data Risk Adjustment Operations - Gift Tee, Director

Medicare Parts C and D Oversight and Enforcement Group

Jerry Mulcahy, Director
Division of Compliance Enforcement - Michael DiBella, Director
Division of Audit Operations - Tawanda Holmes, Director
Division of Analysis, Policy and Strategy - Jennifer Smith, Director

Business Operations Staff 1

Robert Ventura, Director

Hospital and Ambulatory Policy Group

Marc Hartstein, Director
Division of Acute Care -Ing-Jye Cheng, Director
Division of Practitioner Services - John McInnes, M.D., Acting Director
Division of Outpatient Care -Chris Ritter Smith, Acting Director
Division of Ambulatory Services - Valerie Miller, Director

Chronic Care Policy Group

Laurence Wilson, Director
Division of Chronic Care Management - Jana Lindquist, Director
Division of Cost Reporting -Susan Burris, Director
Division of Institutional Post Acute Care - Jeanette Kranacs, Director
Division of Technical Payment Policy - Martha Kuespert, Director
Division of DMEPOS Policy - Joel Kaiser, Director
Division of Home Health, Hospice and HCPCS - Randy Throndset, Director
Division of DMEPOS Competitive Bidding - Lorrie Ballantine, Acting Director

Provider Billing Group

Diane Kovach, Director
Division of Institutional Claims Processing - Loretta Conyers, Acting Director
Division of Practitioner Claims Processing - Louisa Rink, Director
Division of Supplier Claims Processing - Susan Webster, Director
Division of Data Systems - Nora Fleming, Director

Medicare Contractor Management Group

Larry Young, Director
Division of MAC Systems Security and Operations Oversight - Randy Beardsley, Director
Division of MAC Budget and Data Analysis - Stephen Calfo, Director
Eastern MAC Program Management Division - Martin Furman, Director
Division of Change and Operations Management - Randi Yablon, Director
Division of MAC Strategy and Development - Debra Bowman, Director
Division of Performance Assessment - Torris Smith, Director
Southern MAC Program Management Division - David Banks, Director
Western MAC Program Management Division - Jody Kurtenbach, Director

Provider Communications Group

Richard Cuchna, Acting Director
Division of Provider Information Planning and Development - Valerie Haugen, Director
Division of Provider Relations and Outreach - Robin Fritter, Director
Division of Contractor Provider Communications - Lynn Lockard, Director
Division of Provider Communications Technology - Ada Sanchez, Director

Performance-Based Payment Policy Group

John Pilotte, Director
Division of Application, Compliance and Outreach - Laura Dash, Director
Division of Shared Savings Program - Sarah Fogler, Director
Division of Value-Based Payment - Kimberly Spalding-Bush, Director

Functional Statement

  • Serves as CMS' focal point for the formulation, coordination, integration, implementation, and evaluation of national Medicare program policies and operations.
  • Identifies and proposes modifications to Medicare programs and policies to reflect changes or trends in the health care industry, program objectives, and the needs of Medicare beneficiaries. Coordinates with the Office of Legislation on the development and advancement of new legislative initiatives and improvements.
  • Serves as CMS' lead for management, oversight, budget and performance issues relating to Medicare Advantage and prescription drug plans, Medicare fee-for-service providers and contractors.
  • Oversees all CMS interactions and collaboration with key stakeholders relating to Medicare (i.e., plans, providers, other government entities, advocacy groups, Consortia) and communication and dissemination of policies, guidance and materials to same to understand their perspectives and to drive best practices in the health care industry.
  • Develops and implements a comprehensive strategic plan, objectives and measures to carry out CMS' Medicare program mission and goals and position the organization to meet future challenges with the Medicare program and its beneficiaries.
  •  Coordinates with the Center for Program Integrity on the identification of program vulnerabilities and implementation of strategies to eliminate fraud, waste, and abuse.