Skip to Main Content

Metropolitan Statistical Areas, Competitive Bidding Areas, and Zip Codes

Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs)

MSAs are areas designated by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) that include major cities and the suburban areas surrounding them.

Competitive Bidding Areas (CBAs)

A CBA is defined by specific zip codes related to an MSA. The CBA may be concurrent with, larger than or smaller than the related MSA, depending on a variety of considerations, for example, the exclusion of low population-density areas within an MSA or the inclusion of areas outside of an MSA that are part of a normal service area for suppliers in that MSA. The CBA will be the area wherein only contract suppliers may furnish certain Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) items to beneficiaries unless an exception is permitted by regulations.

MSAs for Round 1 Recompete

CMS is required by law to recompete contracts under the DMEPOS Competitive Bidding Program at least once every three years. The Round 1 Rebid contract period for all items except mail order diabetic supplies expires on December 31, 2013. CMS is conducting the Round 1 Recompete in the same CBAs as the Round 1 Rebid

The Round 1 Recompete MSAs are:

  • Cincinnati-Middletown (Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana)
  • Cleveland-Elyria-Mentor (Ohio)
  • Charlotte-Gastonia-Rock Hill (North Carolina and South Carolina)
  • Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington (Texas)
  • Kansas City (Missouri and Kansas)
  • Miami-Fort Lauderdale-Pompano Beach (Florida)
  • Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford (Florida)
  • Pittsburgh (Pennsylvania)
  • Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario (California)

CBAs and ZIP Codes for Round 1 Recompete

The ZIP codes included in each CBA are posted on the Competitive Bidding Implementation Contractor (CBIC) web site.