Skip to Main Content

Metropolitan Statistical Areas, Competitive Bidding Areas, and Zip Codes

Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs)

MSAs are areas designated by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) that include major cities and the suburban areas surrounding them.

Competitive Bidding Areas (CBAs)

A CBA is defined by specific zip codes related to an MSA. The CBA may be concurrent with, larger than or smaller than the related MSA, depending on a variety of considerations, for example, the exclusion of low population-density areas within an MSA or the inclusion of areas outside of an MSA that are part of a normal service area for suppliers in that MSA. The CBA will be the area wherein only contract suppliers may furnish certain Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) items to beneficiaries unless an exception is permitted by regulations.

MSAs for Round 2

On January 8, 2008, CMS announced 70 MSAs for Round 2. The Medicare Improvements for Patients and Providers Act of 2008 (MIPPA) requires that Round 2 occur in these MSAs. In 2010, the Affordable Care Act (ACA) added 21 MSAs to the original 70 MSAs for Round 2 for a total of 91 MSAs. ACA specifies that the additional 21 MSAs must "include the next 21 largest metropolitan statistical areas by total population" after those already selected for Round 2.

The 91 MSAs for Round 2 are as follows:


Albuquerque, NM
Bakersfield-Delano, CA
Boise City-Nampa, ID
Colorado Springs, CO
Denver-Aurora-Broomfield, CO
Fresno, CA
Honolulu, HI
Las Vegas-Paradise, NV
Los Angeles-Long Beach-Santa Ana, CA
Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura, CA
Phoenix-Mesa-Glendale, AZ
Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro, OR-WA
Sacramento-Arden-Arcade-Roseville, CA
Salt Lake City, UT
San Diego-Carlsbad-San Marcos, CA
San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA
Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA
Stockton, CA
Tucson, AZ
Visalia-Porterville, CA


Akron, OH
Chicago-Joliet-Naperville, IL-IN-WI
Columbus, OH
Dayton, OH
Detroit-Warren-Livonia, MI
Flint, MI
Grand Rapids-Wyoming, MI
Huntington-Ashland, WV-KY-OH
Indianapolis-Carmel, IN
Milwaukee-Waukesha-West Allis, WI
Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI
Omaha-Council Bluffs, NE-IA
St. Louis, MO-IL
Toledo, OH
Wichita, KS
Youngstown-Warren-Boardman, OH-PA


Asheville, NC
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Marietta, GA
Augusta-Richmond County, GA-SC
Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX
Baltimore-Towson, MD
Baton Rouge, LA
Beaumont-Port Arthur, TX
Birmingham-Hoover, AL
Cape Coral-Fort Myers, FL
Charleston-North Charleston-Summerville, SC
Chattanooga, TN-GA
Columbia, SC
Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach, FL
El Paso, TX
Greensboro-High Point, NC
Greenville-Mauldin-Easley, SC
Houston-Sugar Land-Baytown, TX
Jackson, MS
Jacksonville, FL
Knoxville, TN
Lakeland-Winter Haven, FL
Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway, AR
Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN
McAllen-Edinburg-Mission, TX
Memphis, TN-MS-AR
Nashville-Davidson-Murfreesboro-Franklin, TN
New Orleans-Metairie-Kenner, LA
North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota, FL
Ocala, FL
Oklahoma City, OK
Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville, FL
Raleigh-Cary, NC
Richmond, VA
San Antonio-New Braunfels, TX
Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL
Tulsa, OK
Virginia Beach-Norfolk-Newport News, VA-NC
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV


Albany-Schenectady-Troy, NY
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ
Boston-Cambridge-Quincy, MA-NH
Bridgeport-Stamford-Norwalk, CT
Buffalo-Niagara Falls, NY
Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford, CT
New Haven-Milford, CT
New York-Northern New Jersey-Long Island, NY-NJ-PA
Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD
Poughkeepsie-Newburgh-Middletown, NY
Providence-New Bedford-Fall River, RI-MA
Rochester, NY
Scranton-Wilkes-Barre, PA
Springfield, MA
Syracuse, NY
Worcester, MA

CBAs for Round 2

Most Round 2 MSAs have only one CBA. However, the three largest MSAs (Chicago, Los Angeles, and New York) are subdivided into multiple CBAs, so there are a total of 100 CBAs.

The names of the CBAs for the Chicago, Los Angeles, and New York MSAs are:

Chicago-Joliet-Naperville, IL-IN-WILos Angeles-Long Beach-Santa Ana, CANew York-Northern New Jersey-Long Island, NY-NJ-PA
Central Chicago Metro, ILLos Angeles County, CABronx-Manhattan, NY
Indiana-Chicago Metro, INOrange County, CANassau-Brooklyn-Queens, NY
Northern-Chicago Metro, IL-WI North-West NYC Metro, NJ
South West Chicago Metro, IL Northern NYC Metro, NY
  Southern NY Metro, NY-NJ
  Suffolk County, NY


The ZIP codes included in each CBA are posted on the Competitive Bidding Implementation Contractor (CBIC) web site.

National Mail Order CBA

The national mail-order competition CBA includes all ZIP codes in all parts of the United States, including the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, and American Samoa.

MSAs for Round 1 Rebid

The Medicare Improvements for Patients and Providers Act of 2008 (MIPPA) designated the MSAs for the Round 1 Rebid of the competitive bidding program. Please note that these are the MSAs that were selected for the initial Round 1 in 2007 except for Puerto Rico, which is excluded from the Round 1 Rebid.

The Round 1 Rebid MSAs are:

  • Cincinnati – Middletown (Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana)
  • Cleveland – Elyria – Mentor (Ohio)
  • Charlotte – Gastonia – Concord (North Carolina and South Carolina)
  • Dallas – Fort Worth – Arlington (Texas)
  • Kansas City (Missouri and Kansas)
  • Miami – Fort Lauderdale – Pompano Beach (Florida)
  • Orlando (Florida)
  • Pittsburgh (Pennsylvania)
  • Riverside – San Bernardino – Ontario (California)

CBAs and ZIP Codes for Round 1 Rebid

The ZIP codes included in each CBA are posted on the Competitive Bidding Implementation Contractor (CBIC) web site.