Skip to Main Content

Clinical Quality Measures (CQMs)

Clinical Quality Measures (CQMs)
Clinical quality measures, or CQMs, are tools that help measure and track the quality of health care services provided by eligible professionals, eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals (CAHs) within our health care system. These measures use data associated with providers’ ability to deliver high-quality care or relate to long term goals for quality health care. CQMs measure many aspects of patient care including:

  • health outcomes 
  • clinical processes 
  • patient safety 
  • efficient use of health care resources 
  • care coordination 
  • patient engagements 
  • population and public health 
  • adherence to clinical guidelines

Measuring and reporting CQMs helps to ensure that our health care system is delivering effective, safe, efficient, patient-centered, equitable, and timely care.

To participate in the Medicare and Medicaid Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Programs and receive an incentive payment, providers are required to submit CQM data from certified EHR technology. Beginning in 2014, all providers must use EHR technology that has been certified to the 2014 standards and capabilities that contains new CQM criteria. Providers will report using the 2014 criteria regardless of whether they are in Stage 1 or Stage 2 of meaningful use.

Please visit the 2014 Clinical Quality Measure Page to learn more about 2014 CQMs and 2014 reporting options.

To access the EHR Incentive Program 2014 CQM electronic specifications please visit the eCQM Library page.

To learn more about electronic reporting please visit the Electronic Reporting Specification page of the EHR Incentive Program.