Skip to Main Content

Medicaid State Information

The Medicaid EHR Incentive Program provides incentive payments for certain Medicaid health care providers to adopt and use EHR technology in ways that can positively affect patient care. Eligible professionals who take part in the program can receive up to a maximum of $63,750 over six years of participation.

For a basic overview of how the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program works, download our Introduction to Medicaid EHR Incentive Program guide.

Each state or territory offers the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program voluntarily. Check below to see if your state’s Medicaid EHR Incentive Program is active.

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Mariana Island
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Just as state timelines for launching the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program vary, so do state timelines for other incentive program milestones, including when a state disburses its first incentive payment and when it starts collecting meaningful use attestations from eligible providers.  For more information about when each state anticipates meeting specific incentive program milestones, as well links to states’ Medicaid EHR Incentive Program websites, please see our State EHR Incentive Program Milestones and Web Resources guide.

Who can participate in the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program?

Eligible professionals* under the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program include:

  • Physicians (primarily doctors of medicine and doctors of osteopathy)
  • Nurse practitioner
  • Certified nurse-midwife
  • Dentist
  • Physician assistant who furnishes services in a Federally Qualified Health Center or Rural Health Clinic that is led by a physician assistant.

*In certain states, optometrists are eligible for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program.  For an optometrist to be eligible, the state Medicaid program must cover adult optometry services as physician services in the Medicaid State Plan.  Please check with your state Medicaid agency for more information

To qualify for an incentive payment under the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, an eligible professional must also meet one of the following criteria:

  • Have a minimum 30% Medicaid patient volume*
  • Have a minimum 20% Medicaid patient volume, and is a pediatrician*
  • Practice predominantly in a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) or Rural Health Clinic (RHC) and have a minimum 30% patient volume attributable to needy individuals

* Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) patients do not count toward the Medicaid patient volume criteria.

For more information on which hospitals can receive a Medicaid EHR incentive payment, visit our “Eligible Hospital Information” tab.

What requirements do you have to meet to receive an EHR incentive payment?

To receive an EHR incentive payment under the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, providers have to meet certain requirements. CMS has established the objectives for “meaningful use” that everyone must meet to receive an incentive payment.

  • In their first year of participation, providers can adopt, implement, upgrade to, or demonstrate meaningful use of certified EHR technology.
  • In their second year of participation and subsequent participation years, providers must show that they are using their EHRs in a meaningful way by meeting thresholds for a number of objectives. Click on our “Meaningful Use” tab to learn more.