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Reduce Cost Shift 
Texas Ambulance Supplemental Payment Program 
FY19 Cost Report - Trip
Statistics at a Glance 
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of All 
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Charge/Trip 
Cost/Trip 

$ 
$ 

1,300.10 
2,133.22 

$ 1,443.55 
$ 396.01 

Payer Class 
Medicare 
Medicaid 

Commercial 
Self-Pay 

Total/Average 

Billed 
$1,443.53 
$1,443.53 
$1,443.53 
$1,443.53 
$1,443.53 

Paid 
$425.00 
$220.00 
$902.22 
$43.31 
$397.75 

Payer Class 
Medicare 
Medicaid 

Commercial 
Self-Pay 

Total/Average 

Billed 
$900.00 
$900.00 
$900.00 
$900.00 
$900.00 

Paid 
$425.00 
$425.00 
$720.00 
$43.31 
$403.33 
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Public Notice 
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
Health and Aging Services Administration 
Medicaid Ambulance Rate Adjustment 

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) intends to adjust 
reimbursement rates for Medicaid covered ambulance services. 

In response to Section 1788 of Public Act 87 of 2021, MDHHS began reimbursing ground 
ambulance services at 100% of Medicare base rates (Locality 01) effective for dates of service on 
or after November 1, 2021. 

For dates of service on or after January 1, 2022, reimbursement will align with Medicare’s 
Calendar Year 2022 base rates. 
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Require Coverage 
• Coverage for emergency ambulance service not required 

o Most insureds believe it is part of their plan 
• Include coverage for Non-Transport 

• EMS only paid for transport 
• Many EMS calls do not require transport 
• When patient declines transport, generally no coverage 

• Results in bill to the patient for Treat-No Transport fee 
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Assure Commercial Insurance 
Reimbursement Adequacy 
• Variations in commercial insurance ‘allowable’ rates 

• Some use Medicare or Medicaid rates 
• Some use ‘arbitrary’ amounts 

• Require use of regional fee schedule as a basis for ‘allowable’ 
rates 
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Commercial Reimbursement Data: 2021 
Average 
Patient Insurance 

Average 
Insurance Patient 

Commercial Payer Services Gross Charges Charge Reimbursement Payment Responsibility 
Blue Cross Blue Shield Of Tx 7,745 $12,834,810 $1,657.17 $7,626,145 $984.65 $672.52 

United Healthcare 31 2,427 $4,016,792 $1,655.04 $2,031,008 $836.84 $818.21 

Aetna PPO 14 1,529 $2,514,526 $1,644.56 $1,134,199 $741.79 $902.76 

Cigna 4 1,508 $2,504,317 $1,660.69 $1,506,596 $999.07 $661.62 

Ambetter of Texas 588 $1,017,882 $1,731.09 $213,867 $363.72 $1,367.37 

Blue Cross Blue Shield Fed 483 $794,426 $1,644.78 $739,131 $1,530.29 $114.48 

UMR Salt Lake City 360 $594,618 $1,651.72 $348,983 $969.40 $682.32 

United Healthcare 1 215 $378,585 $1,760.86 $184,335 $857.37 $903.49 

Meritain Health ERISA Plan 98 $163,096 $1,664.24 $89,146 $909.66 $754.58 

Scott and White Insurance 86 $142,356 $1,655.30 $56,057 $651.82 $1,003.47 

Allsavers 77 $121,331 $1,575.72 $30,922 $401.59 $1,174.13 

Oscar Insurance of Texas 67 $113,074 $1,687.68 $3,807 $56.82 $1,630.85 

Cigna 188061 65 $110,286 $1,696.71 $35,243 $542.21 $1,154.50 

Total/Average 17,334 $28,816,610 $1,662.43 $15,575,665 $898.56 $763.87 
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   Commercial Reimbursement Data: 2021 
Services Total Billed Average Insurance Avg. Ins. Insurance Patient Avg. Patient Patient Patient Paid Patient 

Payer Billed Amount Charge Paid Payment % Billed Bill Paid Per Service Paid % 
Blue Cross Blue Shield Of Tx 7,745 $12,834,810 $1,657.17 $7,626,145 $984.65 59.4% $5,152,043 $665.21 $824,089 $106.40 16.0% 

United Healthcare 31 2,427 $4,016,792 $1,655.04 $2,031,008 $836.84 50.6% $1,958,143 $806.82 $212,219 $87.44 10.8% 

Aetna PPO 14 1,529 $2,514,526 $1,644.56 $1,134,199 $741.79 45.1% $1,360,355 $889.70 $154,490 $101.04 11.4% 

Cigna 4 1,508 $2,504,317 $1,660.69 $1,506,596 $999.07 60.2% $983,420 $652.14 $98,280 $65.17 10.0% 

VHA OFFICE OF COMMUNITY CARE 610 $1,063,347 $1,743.19 $704,604 $1,155.09 66.3% $349,476 $572.91 $12,043 $19.74 3.4% 

Ambetter of Texas 588 $1,017,882 $1,731.09 $213,867 $363.72 21.0% $798,924 $1,358.71 $87,778 $149.28 11.0% 

Veterans Administration Bonham 605 $986,953 $1,631.33 $609,509 $1,007.45 61.8% $352,816 $583.17 $10,103 $16.70 2.9% 

Fhfs Wps Tricare 544 $889,377 $1,634.88 $199,575 $366.87 22.4% $684,300 $1,257.91 $21,925 $40.30 3.2% 

Blue Cross Blue Shield Fed 483 $794,426 $1,644.78 $739,131 $1,530.29 93.0% $61,813 $127.98 $19,727 $40.84 31.9% 

UMR Salt Lake City 360 $594,618 $1,651.72 $348,983 $969.40 58.7% $244,285 $678.57 $29,303 $81.40 12.0% 

United Healthcare 1 215 $378,585 $1,760.86 $184,335 $857.37 48.7% $192,209 $893.99 $15,913 $74.01 8.3% 

Meritain Health ERISA Plan 98 $163,096 $1,664.24 $89,146 $909.66 54.7% $70,091 $715.22 $2,352 $24.00 3.4% 

Scott and White Insurance 86 $142,356 $1,655.30 $56,057 $651.82 39.4% $85,775 $997.38 $13,083 $152.13 15.3% 

Allsavers 77 $121,331 $1,575.72 $30,922 $401.59 25.5% $89,117 $1,157.36 $18,299 $237.64 20.5% 

Oscar Insurance of Texas 67 $113,074 $1,687.68 $3,807 $56.82 3.4% $107,650 $1,606.71 $6,988 $104.31 6.5% 

Cigna 188061 65 $110,286 $1,696.71 $35,243 $542.21 32.0% $63,803 $981.58 $9,848 $151.51 15.4% 

Total 17,334 $28,816,610 $1,662.43 $15,575,665 $898.56 54.1% $13,060,148 $753.44 $1,554,881 $89.70 11.9% 
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Why are Ambulance Fee’s 
What They Are? 
• Providers attempt to assure revenue = cost of service delivery 

• Non-Subsidized Providers = FFS revenue meets cost 
• Tax Subsidy = FFS offsets costs as much as possible 

• Low reimbursement from some payers result in the need for 
higher reimbursement from others 

• Cost-Shift 
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Assure Medicare & Medicaid 
Reimbursement Adequacy 
• Medicare & Medicaid generally reimburse less than the cost of 

service delivery 
• Results in pressure for higher reimbursement from commercial payers (cost 

shift) 
• And higher fees to offset low Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement 

• Use upcoming CMS Ground Ambulance Cost Data Collection process as a 
reasonable estimate of service delivery cost 

• Set Medicare and Medicaid allowable rates to at least cost of service 
delivery 

• Emergency and non-emergency services 
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DEPARTMENT OF REGULATORY AGENCIES 

Division of Insurance 
3 CCR 702-4 

LIFE, ACCIDENT AND HEALTH 
New Regulation 4-2-66 

Section 5: Payment Methodology Rules 

A. Carriers shall reimburse a non-contracted service agency that provides emergency ambulance services 
to a covered person at two hundred seventy-five percent (275%) of the Medicare reimbursement rate 
for the same service provided in the same geographic area, including mileage. 

D. Covered persons shall only be responsible for the applicable in-network deductible, coinsurance, and/or 
copayment they would be required to pay for in-network emergency ambulance services. 

E. Payment made in compliance with Section 5.A. of this regulation shall be considered payment in full for 
the covered services provided, except for any in-network deductible, coinsurance and/or copayment 
amount required to be paid by the covered person. 
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https://casetext.com/regulation/colorado-administrative-code/department-700-department-of-regulatory-agencies/division-702-division-of-insurance/rule-3-ccr-702-4-life-accident-and-health/section-3-ccr-702-4-2-life-accident-and-health-series-4-2-accident-and-health-general/regulation-3-ccr-702-4-19-e-06-concerning-the-payment-methodology-for-non-contracted-service-agencies-that-provide-emergency-ambulance-services/section-3-ccr-702-4-19-e-06-5-payment-methodology-rules


 
 

    

   

Assure Commercial Insurance 
Reimbursement to Provider 
• Many commercial insurers reimburse the PATIENT 

• Despite assignment of benefit signatures 
• Requires provider to bill the patient the full amount 

• Private pay collection rate ~3% 
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Protect the Patient from 
Payment Disputes 
• Require arbitration between payer and provider 

• Allow the arbitrator flexibility to consider 
• Cost of service delivery 
• Average regional charges/fees 

Overview 
In 2019, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 1264 to protect consumers who have certain state-regulated 
health plans from surprise medical bills. The new law requires the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) to issue a 
report on the impacts of the legislation each biennium. This report includes arbitration and mediation information 
maintained by TDI and the data collected from health plans as authorized by SB 1264. Because of the limited time 
covered, the data does not yet support trend analysis. This initial set of data creates a foundation for future reports 
and analyses. 
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Arbitration 
SB 1264 outlines an arbitration process for billing disputes between out-of-network health care providers (not facilities) and 
health plans. From January 1 through October 31, 2020, TDI received 32,036 requests for arbitration. 
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Thank You! 
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