Skip to Main Content

Center for Clinical Standards and Quality

David Wright

Acting Deputy Director

David Wright currently serves as the Acting Deputy Director of the Center for Clinical Standards and Quality (CCSQ). In this role he is a member of the leadership team responsible for leading the policy activities for Quality Improvement Programs, Quality Safety and Oversight, Quality Measurement, Clinical Standards, Coverage and Analysis, End Stage Renal Disease Networks, and many of the agency’s Value Based Purchasing and public reporting programs. Prior to this role, he was the Director of the Quality, Safety & Oversight Group within the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). He loves his job and the role he plays in quality of care assurance for everyone accessing healthcare in the United States. This work is accomplished by over 8,400 dedicated health and safety surveyors at the State and federal levels who perform quality of care inspections of more than 100,000 providers that participate in the Medicare or Medicaid programs, or who provide laboratory services under the Clinical Laboratory Improvements Amendments (CLIA). Under David’s leadership, the Quality, Safety & Oversight Group provides oversight of national accrediting organizations, certifies providers and suppliers for Medicare reimbursement, and shares important quality of care information to the public through various CMS websites, including Quality Certification Oversight Reports, the Integrated Surveyor Training Website, and Nursing Home Compare.

David joined CMS in June 1993 through the Presidential Management Internship program and has been with the Agency for over 24 years, 23 of which were in CMS’ Dallas Regional Office. David is a 2014 graduate of the Federal Executive Institute, a recipient of the 2014 CMS Excellence in Leadership award and an honorary member of Pi Alpha Alpha, the National Honor Society for Public Affairs and Public Administration.

David received a Master’s in Public Affairs from the University of Texas at Dallas in 1993, and a Bachelor’s in Political Science from Texas A&M University in 1991.