The Honorable Bill Walker
State of Alaska

Office of the Governor
State Capitol

P.O. Box 110001

Juneau, AK 99811-0001

Dear Governor Walker:

Thank you for your January 3, 2017, submission of and your May 9, 2017, addendum to
Alaska’s application for a State Innovation Waiver. [ am pleased to send this letter from the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services on behalf of the Department of Health & Human
Services and the Department of Treasury (collectively, the Departments).

This letter is to inform you that the Departments, having completed their review of the
application, approve Alaska’s State Innovation Waiver under section 1332 of the Patient
Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) as described below and conditioned upon: 1) the
state’s written acceptance within 30 days of the specific terms and conditions (STCs) that are
enclosed with this letter and 2) enactment of legislation necessary to fund the reinsurance
program for 2018. This approval is effective for a waiver period of January 1, 2018, through
December 31, 2022.

Alaska’s application sought waiver of the PPACA requirement for the single risk pool in order to
implement the Alaska Reinsurance Program (ARP) for 2018 and future years. The Departments
are granting Alaska’s application to waive the single risk pool requirement in the individual
market under section 1312(c)(1) of the PPACA, to the extent it would otherwise require
excluding total expected State reinsurance payments when establishing the market-wide index
rate for the purposes described in the state’s application.

The enclosed STCs further define the state’s responsibilities with respect to implementation of
the waiver and use of pass-through fundii  durii the waiver period and the nature, charac

and extent of anticipated federal oversight of the project. A breach of any of the STCs may lead
to termination of Alaska’s State Innovation Waiver.

Please send your written acceptance and any communications and questions regarding program
matters or official correspondence concerning the waiver to Lina Rashid at
mw Rashid e ems.hhs.gov or stateinnoyationwaivers ¢ ems.hhs.goy,
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Congratulations and we look forward to working with you and your staff. Please do not hesitate
to contact us if you have any questions.

Jelilia v oiliiia

Enclosure









3. Legislation Authorizing and Appropriating Funds to the ARP. As required by the
PPACA, no later than September 2018, the state must enact legislation to authorize the ARP
beyond state fiscal year 2018. The state also must appropriate sufficient funds, on an annual or
other appropriate basis, for the ARP to operate as described in the state’s waiver

application. The state must convey copies of its authorization and appropriation legislation. as
well any other legislation that may affect operation of the ARP, to the Departments within 2 days
of passage.

4. Compliance with Federal Non-Discrimination Statutes. The state must comply with all
applicable federal statutes relating to non-discrimination. These include the Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990, title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, section 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975 and section 1557 of the PPACA.

5. Compliance with Applicable Federal Laws. Per 31 CFR 33.120(a) and 45 CFR
155.1320(a), the state must comply with all applicable federal laws and regulations, unless a law
or regulation has been specifically waived. A state must, within the applicable timeframes, come
into compliance with any changes in federal laws or regulations affecting section 1332 waivers,
unless the provision being changed has been expressly waived. The state will comply with
requirements of the Cash Management Improvement Act (CMIA) if applicable.

6. Changes to Applicable Federal Laws. The Departments reserve the right to amend, suspend
or terminate the waiver and STCs as needed to reflect changes to applicable federal laws or
changes of an operational nature without requiring the state to submit a new waiver proposal.
The Departments will notify the state at least 30 days in advance of the expected implementation
date of the amended STCs to allow the state to discuss the changes necessary to ensure
compliance with law, regulation and policy, and to provide comment. Changes will be
considered in force upon the Departments’ issuance of the amended STCs. The state must accept
the changes in writing within 30 days of the Departments’ notification for the waiver to continue
to be in effect.

7. Finding of Non-Compliance. The Departments will review and, when appropriate,
investigate documented complaints that the state is failing to materially comply with
requirements specified in the waiver proposal and these STCs. In addition, the Departments will
promptly share with the state any complaint that they have received and notify the state of any
applicable monitoring and compliance issues.

8. State Request for Suspension, Withdrawal or Termination of a Waiver. The state may
only suspend or request withdrawal of all or portions of a waiver plan consistent with the
following requirements:

a) Request for suspension, withdrawal, or termination: If the state wishes the
Departments to suspend or terminate the waiver, or to withdraw a portion of the waiver,
the state must submit a request to the Departments in writing, specifying the reasons for
the requested suspension, withdrawal or termination; the effective date of the requested
suspension, withdrawal or termination; and the proposed phase-out plan (with the
comment summary described below). The state must submit its request and draft phase-



out plan to the ™ :partments no less than six (6) months before the proposed effective ~ ite
of the waiver’s suspension, withdrawal or termination. Prior to submitting the request
and draft phase-out plan to the Departments, the state must publish on its website the
draft transition and phase-out plan for a 30-day public comment period and conduct tribal
consultation. The state must include with its request and proposed phase-out plan a
summary of each public comment received, the state’s response to the comment and
whether or how the state incorporated measures into a revised transition and phase-out
plan to address the comment.

b) The state must obtain the Departments’ approval of the transition and phase-out plan
prior to the implementation of the phase-out activities. Implementation of phase-out
activities must be no sooner than 14 days after the Departments’ approval of the phase-
out plan.

¢) Unused pass-through funding will be returned to the Treasury. The state will comply
with all necessary steps to return the funds within a prompt timeframe.

9. Waiver Extension Request. The state must inform the Departments as to whether the state
will apply for continuation of the waiver one year prior to the waiver’s end date. The
Departments and the state will engage in further discussions to develop guidelines and define
next steps for transition/phase out or continuation of the waiver. If the state does not apply for
an extension of the waiver, CMS will provide guidance on the transition/wind-down of the
state’s waiver.

10. Reporting: The state will submit annual reports as specified in 31 CFR 33.124 and 45 CFR
155.1324. Each such report must include:

o The progress of the section 1332 waiver;

o Data sufficient to show compliance with section 1332(b)(1)(A) through (D) of the
PPACA;

o A summary of the annual post-award public forum, held in accordance with
§155.1320(c), including all public comments received at such forum regarding the
progress of the section 1332 waiver and action taken in response to such concerns
or comments.

o Other information consistent with the state’s approved terms and conditions.

The state must submit a draft annual report to the Departments within 90 days after the end of the
first waiver year and each subsequent year that the waiver is in effect. The state will publish the
draft annual report on the state’s public website within 30 days of submission to the

:partments. Within 60 days of receipt of comments from the De; tments on the )ort, the
state must submit to the Departments the final annual report for the waiver year, summary of the
comments and all comments received. The state must publish the final annual report on the
state’s public web site within 30 days of approval by the Departments.



The annual reports must include the following:

1) Metrics to assist evaluation of the waiver’s compliance with the statutory requirements in
section 1332(b)(1):

a. Actual individual market enrollment in the state.

b. Actual average individual market premium rate (i.e., total individual market
premiums divided by total member months of all enrollees).

c. The actual Second Lowest Cost Silver Plan (SLCSP) premium under the waiver
and an estimate of the SLCSP premium as it would have been without the waiver,
for a representative consumer (e.g., a 21-year old non-smoker) in each rating area.

2) Changes to the ARP or other program changes as specified in STC 2.
3) Notification of changes to state law that may impact the waiver as specified in STC 2.

4) Reporting of:

a. Federal pass-through funding spent on reinsurance individual claim payments to
issuers from the ARP and/or operation of the reinsurance program. Note: the state
will make the first payment to issuers for claims incurred during the year on a
quarterly basis by May 15, August 15, November 15, and February 15 of that
year.

b. The unspent balance of federal pass-through funding for the reporting year, if
applicable.

5) The amount of state funding appropriated to fully fund the ARP for the reporting year.

6) A claims breakout at an aggregate level for the top 5 conditions or cost drivers of the
conditions covered in the regulation, including settings of care in the State of Alaska for
the individual market.

First Periodic Report: Under 31 CFR 33.120(b) and 45 CFR 155.1320(b), the state must
conduct periodic reviews related to the implementation of the waiver. The state will submit a

report to the Departments on the operation of the ARP, including the plan for processing claims,
by February 28, 2018.

11. Post Award Forum. Per 31 CFR 33.120(c) and 45 CFR 155.1320(c), within six months of
the waiver’s effective date and annually thereafter, the state will afford the public an opportunity
to provide meaningful comment on the progress of the waiver. The state is required to publish
the date, time and location of the public forum in a prominent location on the state’s public web
site at least 30 days prior to the date of the planned public forum. The state must also include a

summary of this forum as part of the annual reporting requirements under 31 CFR 33.124 and 45
CFR 155.1324 as specified in STC 10.



12. Monitoring Calls. The state must participate in monitoring calls with the Departments that
are deemed necessary by the Departments. The purpose of these calls is to discuss any
significant actual or anticipated developments affecting the waiver. Areas to be addressed
include the impact on the regulatory criteria discussed above and state legislative or policy
changes. The Departments will update the state on any federal policies and issues that may
affect any aspect of the waiver. The state and the Departments will jointly develop the agenda
for the calls. It is anticipated that these calls will occur at least semi-annually.

13. Federal Evaluation. The Departments will evaluate the waiver using federal data, state
reporting and the application itself to ensure that the Secretaries of the Departments can exercise
appropriate oversight of the approved waiver. Per 31 CFR 33.120(f) and 45 CFR 155.1320(f), if
requested by the Departments, a state must fully cooperate with the Departments or an
independent evaluator selected by the Departments to undertake an independent evaluation of
any component of the waiver. As part of this required cooperation, the state must submit all
requested data and information to the Departments or the independent evaluator. The
Departments will consider the evaluation costs to the federal government in the deficit neutrality
assessment or have it taken into account in the pass-through funding calculation.

14. Pass-through Funding. Under section 1332(a)(3) of the PPACA, the state will be entitled to
funding based on the amount of premium tax credits (PTC) that would have been provided to
individuals under section 36B of the Internal Revenue Code in the State of Alaska absent the
waiver, but will not be provided under the waiver, while considering all federal revenue. The
Departments have evaluated the estimates in the application for a pass-through amount for the
period of the waiver. The state will receive pass-through funding, paid on a quarterly basis, for
the purpose of implementing the state plan under the waiver. The amount of pass-through
funding due under the statute for the 2018 calendar year is estimated to be $48,362,287. The
amount for the 2018 to 2022 waiver period is estimated to be $322,652,234. The Departments
anticipate pass-through payment amounts will be made available in advance of quarterly ARP
payments to the insurer(s). Please see Appendix A for information on the estimated pass-
through calculation.

Starting with the 2018 plan year and each year thereafter, the state will provide: (1) the final
SLCSP rates for a representative individual (e.g. a 21 year old non-smoker) in each rating area
and (2) the state’s estimate of what the final SLCSP rates for a representative individual in each
rating area would have been absent approval of this waiver no later than September 15 of the
preceding year. The state will include with this information the methods and assumptions the
state used to estimate the final SLCSP rates for each rating area absent approval of this waiver.

The state also will provide by September 15 of the year preceding the plan year: (3) the total
amount of all premiums expected to be paid in the non-group market for the plan year and (4)
what total premiums would have been for the plan year without the waiver.

The amount of pass-through funding for plan year 2018 will be communicated to the state no
later than October 31, 2017, conditional on receipt of items 1 through 4 in STC 10 above by
September 15, 2017. The pass-through amount for plan years 2019 through 2022 will be
calculated by the Departments annually (per PPACA section 1332(a)(3)) and reported to the state



not later than October 31 of the preceding year, conditional on receipt of the SLCSP premium
and total premium information (items 1 through 4 above) by September 15. This will be the final
calculation for the 2018 plan year.

The pass-through funds cannot be obligated by the state prior to the waiver effective date. The
state agrees to use the full amount of pass-through funding for purposes of implementing the
state’s plan as approved by the Departments, including implementing the ARP for 2018 and
future years. Moreover, to the extent pass-through funding exceeds that amount necessary for
the reinsurance program to cover payments the for individual claim payments to issuers under
the ARP and/or operation of the reinsurance program, the remaining funds must be rolled over
and used for purposes of implementing the state’s plan under the waiver, such as making
reinsurance payments in the next calendar year.

If the waiver is not extended, unused pass-through funds will be returned to the Treasury
promptly following the end of the approved waiver period, December 31, 2022. The state will
comply with all necessary steps to return the funds within a prompt timeframe.

15. The Departments Right to Amend, Withdraw, Terminate or Suspend. Under 31 CFR
33.120(d) and 45 CFR 155.1320(d), the Departments reserve the right to amend, withdraw,
terminate or suspend the waiver (in whole or in part) at any time before the date of expiration, if
the Departments determine that the state has materially failed to comply with these STCs or if
the state fails to meet the specific statutory requirements or “guardrails” related to coverage.
affordability, comprehensiveness or deficit neutrality.

a) The Departments will promptly notify the state in writing of the determination and the

reasons for the suspension or termination, together with the effective date.

b) In the event that all or a portion of the waiver is terminated or suspended by the
Departments or if all or a portion of the waiver is withdrawn, federal funding available
after the effective date of the termination, suspension or withdrawal will be limited to
normal closeout costs associated with an orderly termination, suspension or withdrawal,
including service costs during any approved transition period and administrative costs of
transitioning participants, as described in 31 CFR 33.120(e) and 45 CFR 155.1320(e).

¢) Unused pass-through funding will be returned to the Treasury. The state will comply
with all necessary steps to return the funds within a prompt timeframe.

The Honorable Bill Walker
Governor
State of Alaska

Date:




Seema Verma

Administrator

Centers for Medic

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

Date:

Thomas West
Acting Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy
U.S. Department of the Treasury

Date:




Appendix A: Pass-Through Calculation Estimates for Alaska 1332 Waiver Application

The estimated pass-through amount is the PTC savings, less the reduction in individual shared
responsibility payments (ISRP), plus the increase in Patient Centered Outcome Fee (PCORI).
and less the reduction in Exchange fees.

Exchange Total
PTC ISRP PCORI fee (Estimate)
2018 50,499,719 -668,616 3,017 -1,471,833 48,362,287
2019 63,868,922 -684,360 727  -1,648,291 61,536,998
2020 68,211,504 -804,545 0 -1,690,708 65,716,251
2021 73,682,934 -599.819 0 -1,905,348 71,177,767
2022 78,545,053 -646,471 0 -2,039,651 75,858,931
Total 334,808,132 -3,403,811 3,744  -8,755,831 322,652,234



