Priority Clinical Areas

 NOTICE: The EDUCATIONAL AND OPERATIONS TESTING PERIOD for the AUC Program has been extended through CY 2021. There are no payment consequences associated with the AUC program during CY 2020 and CY 2021.  We encourage stakeholders to use this period to learn, test and prepare for the AUC program.


Priority clinical areas are defined in 42 CFR 414.94(b) as clinical conditions, diseases or symptom complexes and associated advanced diagnostic imaging services identified by CMS through annual rulemaking and in consultation with stakeholders.

CMS finalized an initial list of priority clinical areas in the CY 2017 Physician Fee Schedule Final Rule (data used to inform this rule is available at Proposed_Priority_Clinical_Area_Appendix2 (PDF)) and established the list in 42 CFR 414.94(e)(5).

Priority Clinical Areas as of November 2016

  • Coronary artery disease (suspected or diagnosed)
  • Suspected pulmonary embolism
  • Headache (traumatic and nontraumatic)
  • Hip pain
  • Low back pain
  • Shoulder pain (to include suspected rotator cuff injury)
  • Cancer of the lung (primary or metastatic, suspected or diagnosed)
  • Cervical or neck pain


Page Last Modified:
08/10/2020 03:18 PM