Skip to Main Content

IMPACT Act Standardized Assessment National Testing

The Improving Medicare Post-Acute Care Transformation Act of 2014 (IMPACT Act) requires that patient assessment data elements collected across post-acute care (PAC) settings be standardized. Standardized data will enable cross-setting data collection, outcome comparison, exchangeability of data, and comparison of quality within and across PAC settings. In addition, standardized data has the potential to improve patient outcomes by improving coordination of care and discharge planning. 

CMS has contracted with the RAND Corporation to develop and implement standardized patient assessment data elements mandated by the IMPACT Act. This effort is taking place over a three-year period from October 2015 through September 2018. The national beta test to evaluate candidate standardized patient assessment data elements will begin in Fall 2017.

For the national test, PAC providers will support the efforts to test the implementation of standardized data elements for reliability, validity and ease of use in PAC settings. The RAND team is currently recruiting PAC providers from Home Health Agencies (HHAs), Inpatient Rehabilitation Facilities (IRFs), Long-term Care Hospitals (LTCHs), and Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNFs) to participate in national beta testing. The national beta test will be conducted in the following locations:

  • Boston, MA
  • Harrisburg, PA
  • Philadelphia, PA
  • Fort Lauderdale, FL
  • Durham, NC
  • Chicago, IL
  • Nashville, TN
  • Kansas City, MO
  • St. Louis, MO
  • Dallas, TX
  • Houston, TX
  • Phoenix, AZ
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • San Diego, CA

Complete the interest form to find out if your organization is eligible to participate in the national beta test.

Recruitment Webinars

To learn more about the national test and your facility’s eligibility to participate, please attend one of the upcoming informational webinars.

The call-in information is 1-415-655-0002.

More Information


November 28, 2017

CMS has contracted with the RAND Corporation to develop standardized assessment-based data elements to meet the requirements as set forth under the IMPACT Act, Section 2(a). As part of its data element development process, RAND is conducting a national test of the data elements that are currently being considered for standardization. These data elements may be used to inform a number of important things, including case-mix adjustment, medical complexity, interoperable exchange, clinical decision support, and measure development. The protocols for this national field test are now posted in the Downloads section below. CMS is posting the national field test protocols to delineate the items being assessed in the National Beta test, to increase transparency, and to allow researchers, providers, and consumers more information on the testing protocol.