2014 Clinical Quality Measures

2014 Clinical Quality Measures

Eligible professionals who demonstrate 2014 clinical quality measures (CQMs) will need to report 9 measures, and eligible hospitals will need to report 16. CQMs may be reported electronically, or via attestation. View the 2014 CQM Electronic Reporting Guides for Eligible Professionals (PDF) and Eligible Hospitals (PDF) to learn more about 2014 CQMs and the reporting process.

National Quality Strategy Domains
There is also a new requirement in 2014 that the quality measures selected must cover at least 3 of the 6 available National Quality Strategy (NQS) domains, which represent the Department of Health and
Human Services’ NQS priorities for health care quality improvement.

The 6 NQS domains are:
1. Patient and Family Engagement
2. Patient Safety
3. Care Coordination
4. Population/Public Health
5. Efficient Use of Healthcare Resources
6. Clinical Process/Effectiveness

Recommended Core Set
For 2014, CMS is not requiring the submission of a core set of electronic CQMs (eCQMs). Instead, CMS has identified two recommended core sets of eCQMs—one for adults and one for children—that focus on high-priority health conditions and best-practices for care delivery.

  • 9 eCQMs for adult populations that meet all of the program requirements
  • 9 eCQMs for pediatric populations that meet all of the program requirements

EHR Reporting Options for Eligible Professionals in 2014 Include:

  • Options that only apply for the EHR Incentive Program
  • Options that Align with Other Quality Programs
    • Option 3: Report individual eligible professionals’ CQMs through PQRS Portal
    • Option 4: Report group’s CQMs through PQRS Portal
    • Option 5: Report group’s CQMs through Pioneer ACO participation or Comprehensive Primary Care Initiative participation
  • EHR Reporting Options for Eligible Hospitals in 2014 Include:
Page Last Modified:
12/01/2021 07:02 PM