Skip to Main Content

Promoting Interoperability (PI)

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is dedicated to improving interoperability and patients’ access to health information. To better reflect this focus, we've renamed the EHR Incentive Programs to the Promoting Interoperability (PI) Programs. Through this rulemaking, we are also streamlining the programs to reduce the time and cost required of providers to participate. Stay tuned for more information. To find out more on how this rulemaking affects Medicare eligible clinicians participating in the Promoting Interoperability (formerly Advancing Care Information) performance category of the Merit-based Incentive Payment System, visit the Quality Payment Program website at

Latest News

  • 2019 Medicare Electronic Health Record (EHR) Program Eligible Hospital Reconsideration Application has been posted to the Payment Adjustment and Hardship Information page. The deadline for submitting all applications is December 21, 2018. The application can be accessed here.
  • On August 17, 2018, CMS published the Fiscal Year (FY) 2019 Medicare Hospital Inpatient Prospective Payment System and Long Term Acute Care Hospital Prospective Payment System Final Rule. For more information on the upcoming changes for the 2019 program year, visit the Federal Register, and view this fact sheet.
  • Now Available: CMS’ electronic clinical quality measure (eCQM) annual update for calendar year (CY) 2018 reporting. For more information, the updated measure specifications are available on the eCQI Resource Center for Eligible Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs), and Eligible Professionals (EPs) and Eligible Clinicians.
  • Page Update: 2013, 2014, and 2015 Clinical Quality Measure information, can now be found on the eCQM Library page. Click here.

Dates to Remember

January 1 through December 31, 2018
  • 2018 PI Programs Reporting Period.
November 30, 2018
  • Deadline for CAHs to submit hardship exception forms based on the 2017 reporting year.


In 2011, CMS established the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs to encourage Eligible Professionals EPs, eligible hospitals, and CAHs to adopt, implement, upgrade (AIU), and demonstrate meaningful use of certified EHR technology (CEHRT).

The PI Programs consist of three stages:

  • Stage 1 set the foundation for the PI Programs by establishing requirements for the electronic capture of clinical data, including providing patients with electronic copies of health information.
  • Stage 2 expanded upon the Stage 1 criteria with a focus on advancing clinical processes and ensuring that the meaningful use of EHRs supported the aims and priorities of the National Quality Strategy. Stage 2 criteria encouraged the use of CEHRT for continuous quality improvement at the point of care and the exchange of information in the most structured format possible.
  • In October 2015, CMS released a final rule that modified Stage 2 to ease reporting requirements and align with other quality reporting programs. The final rule also established Stage 3 in 2017 and beyond, which focuses on using CEHRT to improve health outcomes.

For more information about Stage 1 and Stage 2, visit the Requirements for Previous Years page.

Use the navigation bar on the left side of the page to learn more about the PI Programs, including program requirements for specific years, registration and attestation information, payment adjustment & hardship exceptions, clinical quality measures and more.

You can also stay up to date on the latest PI Program news and updates by following us on Twitter and by subscribing to the CMS PI Listserv.