MEDCAC Meeting

Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) Therapy for Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA)


Expand All | Collapse All


The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services is reviewing its national coverage decision regarding the diagnosis of patients with OSA requiring CPAP therapy. Current national coverage guidelines specify that only a polysomnography done in a facility-based sleep study laboratory be used to identify patients with OSA requiring CPAP (CIM 60-17). CMS has received a Request [PDF, 78KB] from Dr Terence M. Davidson, MD, of the University of California San Diego, School of Medicine to modify this decision to include the use of portable multi-channel home sleep testing devices as an alternative to facility-based polysomnography in the evaluation of OSA.

Actions Taken


Download Minutes [PDF, 464KB].

Panel Voting Questions

Download Qs and As [PDF, 45KB].

Contact Information

Other Material


Ron Davis, MD
Center for Health Promotion and
Disease Prevention
Henry Ford Hospital

Voting Members
David C. Dale, MD
University of Washington
Department of Medicine

A. Mark Fendrick, MD
Internal Medicine and Health
Management & Policy
University of Michigan

G. Scott Gazelle, MD, MPH, PhD
Institute for Technology Assessment
Massachusetts General Hospital

Clifford Goodman. PhD
The Lewin Group

Alexander Krist, MD
Fairfax Family Practice Residency
Virginia Commonwealth University

Michael Maves, MD, MBA
American Medical Association

Rita F. Redberg, MD, MSc, FACC
Division of Cardiology
UCSF School of Medicine

Jonathan P. Weiner, PhD
Division of Health Services Research,
Johns Hopkins School of Public Health

Consumer Representative
Joan Samuelson

Industry Representative
Michael Lacey
Boston Scientific Corporation

Guest Panelists
Robert D. Hoover, Jr., MD, MPH
DMERC Region D CIGNA HealthCare
Medicare Administration

S. Satya-Murti, MD
Region VII
Kansas Blue Shield

Barry Whites, MD, FCCP, MSHA
Region IV
TriSpan Health Services

CMS Liaison
Steve Phurrough, MD
Coverage and Analysis Group,
Office of Clinical Standards and Quality,

Executive Secretary
Janet Anderson Brock

Associated Technology Assessment