
	n Have at least one common-law employee on payroll 
(not including a business owner or sole proprietor, or 
their spouse(s) on the payroll) to enroll in coverage. 
For the definition of a common-law employee, 
visit irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-
employed/employee-common-law-employee.

	n Offer coverage to all your full-time employees—those 
working an average of 30 or more hours per week.

	n Be a “small employer.” This generally means you 
employ at least one and no more than 50 full-time 
equivalent employees (FTEs). For example, 2 half-time 
employees generally equal 1 FTE. Visit HealthCare.gov/
shop-calculators-fte to quickly estimate how many 
FTEs you have.

You may qualify for the Small Business Health Care 
Tax Credit. This tax credit can be worth up to 50% of 
your contribution toward premium costs (up to 35% for 
tax-exempt employers). Generally, to qualify you must: 

	n Have fewer than 25 FTEs (based on a 40-hour work 
week) making an average of about $56,000 a year or 
less. 

	n Pay at least 50% of your FTEs’ premium costs. 

Employer 
Guide to SHOP 
Insurance

Important:

If you’re a small business in an 
area with no available SHOP plans, 
visit irs.gov/affordable-care-act/

employers/small-business-
health-care-tax-credit-and-the-

shop-marketplace for information 
on qualifying for the Small 

Business Health Care Tax Credit.

The Small Business Health Options Program (SHOP) 
helps small employers offer affordable, private health 
and dental coverage. It’s also generally the only way to 
get the Small Business Health Care Tax Credit, which 
can save eligible employers up to 50% of their employer 
contribution.

SHOP basics

The SHOP Marketplace offers quality plans from 
private insurance companies. All SHOP plans offer 
coverage of the same categories of essential health 
benefits, like doctor visits, preventive care, hospitalization, 
and prescription drugs. There are also limits on the 
differences in premiums that insurance companies 
can charge based on age, and restrictions on charging 
individuals more because of pre-existing conditions.

You have choices and flexibility. You can: 

	n Offer your employees one plan, or let them choose 
from multiple plans. 

	n Offer health coverage, dental coverage, or both. 

	n Choose how much you pay toward your employees’ 
premiums and whether to offer coverage to their 
dependents. 

	n Decide the length of your employees’ Initial 
Enrollment Period to first join a plan, and how long 
new employees must wait before joining a plan.

To be eligible for SHOP coverage, you must:

	n Have a primary business address in the state where 
you’re buying coverage or offer coverage to each 
eligible employee through the SHOP serving that 
employee’s primary worksite.
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Minimum participation rate

During most times of the year, if you want to participate in 
the SHOP, a certain percentage of your eligible employees 
must enroll in the plans you offer. However, if your 
employees enroll between November 15 – December 15, 
you don’t have to meet this minimum participation rate. 

In most states, 70% of your eligible employees must 
enroll in the plan(s) you offer. This percentage is 
different in these states:

State

SHOP Marketplace  

minimum participation 

rate

Iowa 75%

Louisiana 75%

Mississippi 0%

New Hampshire 75%

South Dakota 75%

Tennessee 50%

Texas 75%

Utah 75%

How the minimum participation rate is 
calculated

SHOP participation rates are calculated by dividing 
the number of full-time employees enrolling in SHOP 
coverage under the employer’s plan plus the number 
of full-time employees enrolled in other minimum 
essential coverage by the total number of full-time 
employees offered SHOP coverage. 

Other coverage can include insurance from another 
job, individual private insurance, another person’s or 
spouse’s job, Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, VA health care 
programs, and the Indian Health Service. Use the SHOP 
Minimum Participation Rate Calculator at  
HealthCare.gov/small-businesses/shop-calculators-mpr 
to see how many of your employees must accept your 
coverage offer.

Note: Don’t include non-employees (owner, spouse of 
owner, COBRA enrollees, and retirees) in this calculation.

How to enroll in SHOP coverage

With SHOP, you can start offering insurance to your 
employees any time of year. You can enroll in SHOP 
plans through an insurance company or with the 
help of a SHOP-registered agent or broker. Specific 
enrollment steps may vary by insurance company.

1.	 Visit HealthCare.gov/small-business to get started. 
You’ll find information on SHOP eligibility, available 
plans, how much you may be able to save with the 
Small Business Health Care Tax Credit, and more.

2.	 Get help from an agent or broker. SHOP-
registered agents and brokers are experts on 
helping small businesses choose the right health 
insurance. They can guide you through the decision-
making process and help you enroll. Learn more 
about working with an agent or broker on page 3.

3.	 Confirm your eligibility. Before you enroll in 
SHOP, you’ll need to confirm that you’re eligible to 
participate at go.cms.gov/SHOP-eligibility. You’ll 
get an eligibility decision right away. Keep it for your 
records. You may need this to enroll or apply for the 
Small Business Health Care Tax Credit.

4.	 Review options and select a SHOP plan.  
Visit HealthCare.gov/see-plans/small-business 
to review plans and prices. When picking a plan, 
consider the monthly cost, deductible, provider 
network, and prescription drug coverage. Contact the 
insurance company or your agent or broker for any 
important enrollment steps or application deadlines. 
Make sure you plan ahead when enrolling. You’ll 
need to leave enough time to gather and provide 
important information about your business, and 
allow your employees to review your coverage offer. 

5.	 Pay premiums and manage coverage. You’ll 
pay your premium to your insurance company. 
Individual insurance companies may accept 
different payment methods, or have different 
payment deadlines. 

Note: Your insurance company can terminate your 
coverage if you don’t pay your premiums, so be sure 
to update any changes—like adding or removing an 
employee—throughout the year.
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Visit HealthCare.gov/small-businesses/provide-shop-
coverage/small-business-tax-credits for more information 
about the Small Business Health Care Tax Credit.

State premium assistance programs

In addition to the Small Business Health Care Tax Credit, 
some states have premium assistance programs that may 
be available to you and your employees based on your 
location. Contact your state insurance department to find 
out if they have a premium assistance program.

Getting help from a SHOP-registered 
agent or broker 

An agent or broker can help you review different 
coverage options and create custom premium 
estimates. A SHOP-registered agent or broker can also 
help determine if your business is eligible for SHOP 
coverage, and how much you may be able to save 
through the Small Business Health Care Tax Credit. 
If there are no SHOP plans available in your area, an 
agent or broker may still be able to help you and your 
employees sign up for health insurance.

If you’re working with an agent or broker for the first 
time, here are a few key questions to ask:

	n How does offering coverage for dependents affect 
my premium contributions?

	n How can my employees check to see what doctors,  
health services, and prescriptions are available 
under a plan?

	n How can you help me if a plan denies an insurance 
claim?

Before meeting with an agent or broker, estimate how 
much you want to contribute to employee premiums 
each month, how many of your employees will accept 
your coverage offer, and when you want your health 
plan to start. Consider these questions:

	n Would my employees prefer a lower monthly premium 
and higher costs, or a higher monthly premium and 
lower costs, when they get care?

	n What are the pros and cons of offering my employees 
a choice of plans versus only one plan option?

If you don’t reach the required minimum participation 
rate, you have 3 options:

1.	 Update your coverage offer and try to enroll 
again. For example, you can change the coverage 
you offer, or increase the amount you contribute to 
your employees’ premiums as an incentive to increase 
participation. You’ll have to start the enrollment 
process over again, but you can use the information 
from your initial application. If you decide to wait to 
enroll, you can reapply at any time during the year.

2.	 Enroll between November 15 – December 15. 
During this Open Enrollment Period each year, the 
minimum participation requirement doesn’t apply.

3.	 Withdraw your offer of coverage. If you didn’t 
meet the minimum participation rate when you 
applied, you can withdraw your offer and wait to 
offer coverage another time during the year when 
you think you’ll have more employee participation.

The Small Business Health Care Tax 
Credit & state premium assistance 
programs

If you participate in SHOP, you may qualify for the Small 
Business Health Care Tax Credit and state premium 
assistance programs. These can help lower the cost of 
health insurance premiums. 

The Small Business Health Care Tax Credit can be worth 
up to 50% of your premium contributions (or up to 35% 
for tax-exempt employers). To qualify for the tax credit, 
you must have all of these:

	n Fewer than 25 full-time equivalent (FTE) employees 
(based on a 40-hour work week)

	n An average employee salary of $56,000 per year or 
less, adjusted yearly for inflation

	n A contribution of at least 50% of employee-only 
premium costs

	n Employees enrolled in coverage through SHOP

Note: You aren’t required to offer coverage to your part-
time employees (those working fewer than 30 hours per 
week) or dependents to qualify for the tax credit.
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This product was produced at U.S. taxpayer expense.

Health Insurance Marketplace® is a registered service mark of 
the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.

Find an agent or broker 

Insurance agents and brokers are required to 
complete hours of training each year. Many are 
experts in health insurance and can answer questions 
you may have. After you enroll, agents and brokers 
can also help you manage and update your coverage 
throughout the year. 

If you need help from a SHOP-registered agent or broker, 
visit LocalHelp.HealthCare.gov to find someone who can 
help. If you don’t work with an agent or broker for SHOP 
coverage, you’ll have to go through an insurance company 
to enroll. You can’t enroll in SHOP through  
HealthCare.gov even if you have in the past.

Visit HealthCare.gov/small-businesses/choose-
and-enroll/shop-marketplace-overview/ for more 
information about enrolling in SHOP.

Help with SHOP

For more information and help with SHOP, visit  
HealthCare.gov/small-businesses/employers or contact  

the SHOP Call Center at 1-800-706-7893 (TTY: 1-888-201-6445). 

For questions about applications, enrollment, renewing, changing or  
updating coverage, you can also contact your insurance company or  

a SHOP-registered agent or broker. 

You have the right to get Marketplace information in an accessible format, like large print, braille, or audio.  

You also have the right to file a complaint if you feel you’ve been discriminated against.

Visit CMS.gov/About-CMS/Web-Policies-Important-Links/Accessibility-Nondiscrimination-Disabilities-Notice,  

or call the Marketplace Call Center at 1-800-318-2596 for more information. TTY users can call 1-855-889-4325.
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