National Overview of 1915(c) HCBS Waivers

National Overview of 1915(c) HCBS Waivers

The Medicaid Home- and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waiver program was authorized under Section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act. Through this program, states can help provide different services that allow those who need care to receive services in their homes or communities.

Under a waiver program, a state can waive certain Medicaid program requirements, allowing the state to provide care for people who might not otherwise be eligible under Medicaid. Through certain waivers, states can target services to people who need LTSS.

Waivers can be used along with federal, state, and local programs, such as Medicaid state plans and Administration on Aging grants.

Please visit for more information.

Page Last Modified:
09/06/2023 04:57 PM