Skip to Main Content

Physician Compare Initiative

Welcome to the Physician Compare Initiative webpage. This site provides physicians and other healthcare professionals with the latest resources and information about Physician Compare, a website designed to help consumers make informed choices about the healthcare they receive through Medicare. To learn more about Physician Compare, view Physician Compare Overview.

What’s New?

  • Register for the February 18th and 19th Physician Compare Benchmark Discussion Webinars

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) is currently evaluating options for a publicly reported benchmark for the Physician Compare website. Per the 2015 Physician Fee Schedule Final Rule, the Physician Compare Support Team is facilitating outreach to discuss more thoroughly potential benchmarking methodologies with stakeholders prior to finalizing a future proposal. The purpose of these Webinars is to discuss considerations, answer questions, and to allow stakeholders to contribute to the conversation regarding a publicly reported benchmark on Physician Compare.The six sessions will be conducted via WebEx at the following times: 

February 18, 2015                                 
Session one: 11:00 am ET/ 8:00 am PT
Session two: 2:00 pm ET/ 11:00 am PT
Session three: 5:00 pm ET/2:00 pm PT

February 19, 2015
Session four: 10:00 am ET/ 7:00 am PT
Session five: 12:00 pm ET/ 9:00 am PT
Session six: 4:00 pm ET/ 1:00 pm PT

To register for a session, send an e-mail to the Physician Compare support team at PhysicianCompare@Westat.com using the subject line “Physician Compare Benchmark Discussion Webinar” and include your name, organization, telephone number, e-mail address, and preferred session.

  • Physician Compare Virtual Office Hour session materials now available!

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) hosted a one hour Virtual Office Hour session for the Physician Compare website on January 22, 2015. This session provided CMS the opportunity to directly address questions about Physician Compare and public reporting. The Questions and Answers document and presentation slides are now available.  

  • Physician Compare Update E-newsletter

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) recently launched Physician Compare Update, an e-newsletter dedicated solely to communicating Physician Compare related news, updates, alerts, and announcements. Click here to view the first issue of Physician Compare Update. You can also subscribe to the Physician Compare listserv and e-newsletter by registering your email address here.

Contact Physician Compare

E-mail feedback and questions to the Physician Compare team at PhysicianCompare@Westat.com.