Standard-Setting and Related Organizations

Standard-Setting and Related Organizations

Standard-setting organizations (SSOs)/Standards development organizations (SDOs) develop, coordinate, and revise technical standards. Designated Standards Maintenance Organizations (DSMOs) are organizations named by the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) to maintain standards adopted under HIPAA and to receive and process requests to adopt new standards or modify existing standards.

The following is a list of advisory groups and DSMOs, as well as non-DSMO standard-setting organizations, and other related organizations that help HHS to develop Administrative Simplification standards.

Advisory Groups

Designated Authoring Entity for Operating Rules

Designated Standard Maintenance Organizations

Non-DSMO Standard-Setting Organizations

Page Last Modified:
03/04/2024 03:37 PM