Affected Hospitals

Affected Hospitals

The Present on Admission (POA) Indicator requirement and Hospital-Acquired Conditions (HAC) payment provision only apply to Inpatient Prospective Payment Systems (IPPS) Hospitals.

The following hospitals are exempt from reporting the POA Indicator and the HAC payment provision:

  1. Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs)
  2. Long-term Care Hospitals (LTCHs)
  3. Maryland Waiver Hospitals*
  4. Cancer Hospitals
  5. Children's Inpatient Facilities
  6. Religious Non-Medical Health Care Institutions
  7. Inpatient Psychiatric Hospitals
  8. Inpatient Rehabilitation Facilities
  9. Veterans Administration/Department of Defense Hospitals

*Maryland Waiver Hospitals must report the POA indicator on all claims.

Page Last Modified:
02/09/2024 11:15 AM