Skip to Main Content

Lung Volume Reduction Surgery (LVRS)

Three types of facilities are eligible for reimbursement for Lung Volume Reduction Surgery (LVRS): National Emphysema Treatment Trial (NETT) approved (Beginning 05/07/2007, these will no longer automatically qualify and can qualify only with the other programs), Credentialed by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) under their Disease Specific Certification Program for LVRS, and Medicare approved for lung or heart and lung transplants. Only the first 2 types are in the list.


Facility name Date approved State Type of Certification
Ohio State University Hospitals 10/29/2016 OHIO JCAHO
Memorial Medical Center 05/06/2017 ILLINOIS JCAHO
Temple University Hospital, Inc. 03/25/2017 PENNSYLVANIA JCAHO
Allegheny General Hospital 04/23/2008 PENNSYLVANIA JCAHO
Kaiser Foundation Hospital - Riverside 11/01/2008 CALIFORNIA JCAHO
Baylor College of Medicine N/A TEXAS Baylor College of Medicine
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center N/A CALIFORNIA NETT
Chapman Medical Center N/A CALIFORNIA NETT
Cleveland Clinic Foundation N/A OHIO NETT
Columbia University N/A NEW YORK NETT
Duke University Medical Center N/A NORTH CAROLINA NETT
Johns Hopkins Hospital N/A MARYLAND NETT
Long Island Jewish Medical Center N/A NEW YORK NETT
National Jewish Medical Center N/A COLORADO NETT
Saint Louis University N/A MISSOURI NETT
University of California, San Diego N/A CALIFORNIA NETT
University of Maryland Medical Center N/A MARYLAND NETT
University of Pennsylvania N/A PENNSYLVANIA NETT
University of Michigan Medical Center N/A MICHIGAN JCAHO
University of Pittsburgh N/A PENNSYLVANIA NETT
University of Washington N/A WASHINGTON NETT
Washington University/Barnes Hospital N/A MISSOURI JCAHO
Brigham and Women's Hospital N/A MASSACHUSETTS NETT
Northwestern Memorial Hospital 08/10/2013 ILLINOIS JCAHO