Data Sharing Agreements

Data Sharing Agreements

Computer Matching Agreements (CMAs)

A Computer Matching Agreement (CMA) is a written agreement establishing the conditions, safeguards, and procedures under which a federal agency agrees to disclose data with another federal or state agency.  For access to CMAs, visit HHS CMA website.

Information Exchange Agreements (IEAs)

The Privacy Act of 1974 established the Information Exchange Agreement (IEA). The IEA is a document used when CMS discloses Personally Identifiable Information (PII) to a Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Operating Division (OpDiv), another federal agency, or a state agency. The IEA states the terms and conditions for the data exchange between CMS and the other party, including the privacy and security safeguards to ensure that the information is protected.  


An IEA is required when exchanging information with outside agencies. It is similar to an Interconnection Security Agreement (ISA) but does not include technical details and specific boundaries of the system. An ISA may be required in addition to an IEA, depending on the method used to transfer data. 


Page Last Modified:
11/21/2023 06:20 PM