Tribal Technical Advisory Group (TTAG)

Tribal Technical Advisory Group (TTAG)


CMS Tribal Technical Advisory Group Overview


The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Service (CMS) established its Tribal Technical Advisory Group (TTAG) in 2004 to provide advice and input to CMS on policy and program issues impacting American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/AN) served by CMS programs. Although not a substitute for formal consultation with Tribal leaders, TTAG enhances the Government-to-Government relationship and improves increased understanding between CMS and Tribes.

TTAG holds monthly conference calls and three face-to-face meetings each year.  TTAG has subject specific subcommittees that meet on a regular basis in order to be more effective and perform in-depth analysis of Medicare, Medicaid, CHIP, and the Health Insurance Marketplace policies that have Tribal implications. 

The TTAG is comprised of 17 representatives: an elected Tribal leader, or an appointed representative from each of the twelve geographic Areas of the Indian Health Service (IHS) delivery system and a representative from each of the national Indian organizations headquartered in Washington DC - the National Indian Health Board (NIHB), the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI), and the Tribal Self-Governance Advisory Group (TSGAC).

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (Recovery Act) section 5006(e)(1), which became effective July 1, 2009, mandates that TTAG shall be maintained within CMS and added two new representative’s positions: A representative and alternate from a national urban Indian health organization (National Council on Urban Indian Health (NCUIH)) and a representative and alternate from the Indian Health Service (IHS).

The current TTAG membership list can be found in the downloads section below.



Page Last Modified:
09/06/2023 04:57 PM