Center for Medicare

Demetrios Kouzoukas, Principal Deputy Administrator for Medicare and Director

John Brooks, Principal Deputy Director

Elizabeth Richter, Deputy Director

Cheri Rice, Deputy Director

Business Operations Staff 1

Robert Ventura, Director
Larry Bonander, Deputy Director

Hospital and Ambulatory Policy Group

Carol Blackford, Director
Ing-Jye Cheng, Deputy Director
Division of Acute Care - Don Thompson, Director; Michele Hudson, Deputy Director
Division of Practitioner Services - Gift Tee, Director; Marge Watchorn, Deputy Director
Division of Outpatient Care - Tiffany Swygert, Director; David Rice, Deputy Director
Division of Ambulatory Services - Sara Shirey-Losso, Director; Corinne Axelrod, Acting Deputy Director

Chronic Care Policy Group

Jason Bennett, Acting Director
Jeanette Kranacs, Deputy Director
Division of Chronic Care Management - Jana Lindquist, Director; Abigail Ryan, Deputy Director
Division of Cost Reporting - Susan Burris, Director; Deanna Rhodes, Deputy Director
Division of Institutional Post Acute Care - Todd Smith, Director; Susanne Seagrave, Deputy Director
Division of Technical Payment Policy - Martha Kuespert, Director; Laura Dash, Deputy Director
Division of DMEPOS Policy - Joel Kaiser, Director; Cynthia Hake, Deputy Director
Division of Home Health, Hospice and HCPCS - Hillary Loeffler, Director; Brian Slater, Deputy Director
Division of DMEPOS Competitive Bidding - Michael Keane, Director; Joe Bryson, Deputy Director

Provider Billing Group

Diane Kovach, Director
Michael Crochunis, Deputy Director
Division of Institutional Claims Processing - Lorraine Zicha, Director; Loretta Conyers, Deputy Director
Division of Practitioner Claims Processing - Louisa Rink, Director
Division of Supplier Claims Processing - Jason Kerr, Director
Division of Data Systems - Tamara Howard, Director

Medicare Contractor Management Group

Larry Young, Director
Torris Smith, Deputy Director
Division of MAC Systems Security and Operations Oversight - Randy Beardsley, Director
Division of MAC Budget and Data Analysis - Stephen Calfo, Director
Eastern MAC Program Management Division - Martin Furman, Director; Vacant, Deputy Director
Division of Change and Operations Management - Randi Yablon, Director
Division of MAC Strategy and Development - Chris Eisenberg, Director; Brian Johnson, Deputy Director
Division of Performance Assessment - Michelle Albert, Director; Vacant, Deputy Director
Southern MAC Program Management Division - David Banks, Director
Western MAC Program Management Division - Jody Kurtenbach, Director

Provider Communications Group

Richard Cuchna, Director
Tricia Rodgers, Deputy Director
Division of Provider Information Planning and Development - Valerie Haugen, Director; Mary Case, Deputy Director
Division of Provider Relations and Outreach - Robin Fritter, Director
Division of Contractor Provider Communications - Amy Abel-Matkins, Director
Division of Provider Communications Technology - Ada Sanchez, Director, Delena McNeal, Deputy Director

Performance-Based Payment Policy Group

John Pilotte, Director
Jonathan Blanar, Deputy Director
Division of ACO Management and Compliance - Cathy LaRuffa, Director
Division of ACO Finance and Data Analytics - Heather Grimsley, Director; Josef Otto, Deputy Director
Division of Program Alignment and Communications - Kimberly Spalding Bush, Director; Karmin Jones, Deputy Director

Business Operations Staff 2

Victoria Beder, Director
Simone Feaster, Deputy Director

Medicare Drug Benefit and C and D Data Group

Amy Larrick, Director
Andrea Bendewald, Acting Deputy Director
Division of Benefit Purchasing and Monitoring - Linda Anders, Director; Michael Neumann, Deputy Director
Division of Formulary and Benefit Operations - Brian Martin, Director; Anna Valdini, Acting Deputy Director
Division of Clinical and Operational Performance - Michelle Ketcham, Director; Alice Lee-Martin, Deputy Director
Division of Consumer Assessment and Plan Performance - Elizabeth Goldstein, Director; David Miranda, Deputy Director
Division of Plan Data - Lori Robinson, Director; Ana Nunez, Deputy Director
Division of Part D Policy - Chris Bauer, Director; Craig Miner, Deputy Director

Medicare Drug and Health Plan Contract Administration Group

Kathryn Coleman, Director
Scott Sturiale, Deputy Director
Division of Policy, Analysis and Planning - Heather Barkes, Director; Heather Rudo, Deputy Director
Division of Medicare Advantage Operations - Erica Sontag, Director; Twi Jackson, Deputy Director
Division of Finance and Benefits - Dale Summers, Director; Yasmin Galvez, Deputy Director
Division of Surveillance, Compliance and Marketing - Tim Roe, Director; Vacant, Deputy Director

Medicare Enrollment and Appeals Group

Jerry Mulcahy, Director
Jennifer Smith, Deputy Director
Division of Enrollment and Eligibility Policy - Ronke Fabayo, Director; Ronke Fabayo, Acting Deputy Director
Division of Appeals Policy - Nishamarie Sherry, Director; Tyler Whitaker, Deputy Director
Division of Appeals Operations - Maria Ramirez, Director; Christina Kasdan, Deputy Director
Division of Medicare Enrollment Coordination - Ilina Chaudhuri, Director; Stephen Ludwig, Deputy Director

Medicare Plan Payment Group

Jennifer Shapiro, Acting Director
Rebecca Paul, Acting Deputy Director
Division of Payment Validation - Whitney Johnson, Director; Stacy Davis, Deputy Director
Division of Payment Operations - Edward Howard, Director; Ed Howard, Acting Deputy Director
Division of Payment Reconciliation - Christine Machon, Director; Mary Best, Acting Deputy Director
Division of Payment Systems - Anne Mutti, Director
Division of Payment Policy - Monica Reed-Asante, Acting Director; Cindy Falconi, Acting Deputy Director
Division of Encounter Data Risk Adjustment Operations - Amanda Johnson, Director; Vacant, Deputy Director

Medicare Parts C and D Oversight and Enforcement Group

John Scott, Acting Director
John Scott, Acting Deputy Director
Division of Compliance Enforcement - Kevin Stansbury, Director; Vacant, Deputy Director
Division of Audit Operations - Jessica Robinson, Director; Vacant, Deputy Director
Division of Analysis, Policy and Strategy - Kady Flannery, Director; Caroline Zeman, Acting Deputy Director

Functional Statement

  • Serves as CMS' focal point for the formulation, coordination, integration, implementation, and evaluation of national Medicare program policies and operations.
  • Identifies and proposes modifications to Medicare programs and policies to reflect changes or trends in the health care industry, program objectives, and the needs of Medicare beneficiaries. Coordinates with the Office of Legislation on the development and advancement of new legislative initiatives and improvements.
  • Serves as CMS' lead for management, oversight, budget and performance issues relating to Medicare Advantage and prescription drug plans, Medicare fee-for-service providers and contractors.
  • Oversees all CMS interactions and collaboration with key stakeholders relating to Medicare (i.e., plans, providers, other government entities, advocacy groups, Consortia) and communication and dissemination of policies, guidance and materials to same to understand their perspectives and to drive best practices in the health care industry.
  • Develops and implements a comprehensive strategic plan, objectives and measures to carry out CMS' Medicare program mission and goals and position the organization to meet future challenges with the Medicare program and its beneficiaries.
  • Coordinates with the Center for Program Integrity on the identification of program vulnerabilities and implementation of strategies to eliminate fraud, waste, and abuse.


Page Last Modified:
11/05/2019 11:39 AM