Electronic Clinical Quality Measures Basics

Electronic clinical quality measures (eCQMs) are tools that help measure and track the quality of health care services that eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals (CAHs) provide, as generated by a provider's electronic health record (EHR). Measuring and reporting eCQMs helps to ensure that our health care system is delivering effective, safe, efficient, patient-centered, equitable, and timely care. CMS’ eCQMs measure many aspects of patient care, including:

  • Patient and Family Engagement
  • Patient Safety
  • Care Coordination
  • Population/Public Health
  • Efficient Use of Healthcare Resources
  • Clinical Process/Effectiveness

Health care providers are required to electronically report eCQMs, which use data from EHRs and/or health information technology systems to measure health care quality. To report eCQMs successfully, health care providers must adhere to the requirements identified by the CMS quality program in which they intend to participate.

Each year, CMS makes updates to the eCQMs approved for CMS programs to reflect changes in:

  • Evidence-based Medicine
  • Code Sets
  • Measure Logic

To successfully participate in the Medicare and Medicaid Promoting Interoperability Programs, CMS requires EPs, eligible hospitals, CAHs, and dual-eligible hospitals to report on eCQMs. These eCQMs are determined by CMS and require the use of certified electronic health record technology (CEHRT).

For calendar year (CY) 2022, Medicare Promoting Interoperability Program participants are required to report on three self-selected eCQMs and the Safe Use of Opioids – Concurrent Prescribing eCQM from the set of nine available. The reporting period is three self-selected quarters of CY 2022 data.

Additional Resources

Page Last Modified:
03/25/2022 12:04 PM