Skip to Main Content
Main Content

Hospital Acquired Conditions

Hospital-Acquired Condition (HAC) Reduction Program

What's the Hospital-Acquired Condition (HAC) Reduction Program?

The HAC Reduction Program encourages hospitals to make patient safety better and reduce the number of hospital-acquired conditions, like pressure sores and hip fractures after surgery.

Why's the HAC Program important?

The HAC Reduction Program saves Medicare approximately $350 million every year. These savings come from reducing what we pay to hospitals that rank worst among other hospitals for how often their patients get hospital-acquired conditions. We pay the worst-ranking hospitals 99% of what we would’ve otherwise paid.

How are hospitals measured in the HAC Program?

We determine if a hospital should be paid less based on how well it performs across 6 measures within 2 domains that measure:

  1. The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) Central Line-Associated Bloodstream Infection (CLABSI) measure
  2. The CDC NHSN Catheter-Associated Urinary Tract Infection (CAUTI) measure
  3. The CDC NHSN Surgical Site Infection (Colon Surgery and Abdominal Hysterectomy) (SSI)
  4. The CDC NHSN Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus Aureus (MRSA)
  5. The CDC NHSN Clostridium Difficile (C. diff)

Together, the 6 measures are used to determine a hospital’s total HAC score and ranking among other hospitals. You can find the scores for each measure used and the total HAC score for each hospital at Hospital Compare. You can also view the HAC Reduction Program Summary: Payment Years 2015-2017 for more information. 

Get more in-depth information on the HAC Reduction Program.