eCQM Library

Beginning in 2019, all eligible professionals (EPs), eligible hospitals, dual-eligible hospitals, and critical access hospitals (CAHs) are required to use 2015 edition certified electronic health record technology (CEHRT) to meet the requirements of the Promoting Interoperability Program. Note that the requirements for eligible hospitals, dual-eligible hospitals, and CAHs that submit an attestation to CMS under the Medicare Promoting Interoperability Program were updated in the 2019 IPPS final rule.

In 2019, all Medicaid eligible hospitals and EPs must adhere to the requirements of their state’s Medicaid Promoting Interoperability Program and attest directly to their state. Visit the 2019 Promoting Interoperability Medicaid page for more information.

Annual Updates to eCQM Specifications

Each year, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) updates the electronic clinical quality measures (eCQMs) for potential inclusion in CMS quality reporting programs. CMS requires the implementation and use of the updates because they include new codes, logic corrections and clarifications.

The eCQMs and supporting materials for their implementation are now located on the electronic clinical quality improvement (eCQI) Resource Center: 

*Eligible clinicians participate in the Quality Payment Program through the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) and Advanced Alternative Payment Models (Advanced APM).

For information regarding 2013 and 2014 Clinical Quality Measures and 2015 CQM Reporting Options, please refer to the links below.

2013 Clinical Quality Measures

2014 Clinical Quality Measures

2015 Clinical Quality Measure Reporting Options

Additional Resources

Page Last Modified:
04/02/2019 11:58 AM