Skip to Main Content

Medicare PFS Locality Configuration

The current Physician Fee Schedule (PFS) locality structure was developed and implemented in 1997.  There are currently 89 total PFS localities; 34 localities are statewide areas (that is, only one locality for the entire state).  There are 52 localities in the other 16 states, with 10 states having 2 localities, 2 states having 3 localities, 1 state having 4 localities, and 3 states having 5 or more localities.  The District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia suburbs, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands are additional localities that make up the remainder of the total of 89 localities. 

A listing of the current PFS locality structure, including state, locality area (and when applicable, counties assigned to each locality area) may be accessed in the download section below.